It’s almost comical that I am trying to make these recipes and photograph the steps. First of all, I’m a good cook but I lack attention to detail in the kitchen. I don’t measure most things, and I tend to make a massive mess. Second of all, my camera is not user friendly and I take bad photos. But, the good news is, these cookies were a big hit. I packaged a dozen up and gave them to my friend Leah for her birthday and she wrote to say they were “DEEEE-LISH”, and Dave, my husband, has been happily devouring the others. So – don’t let my bad photos deter you. These are great cookies to make. Let me know how they go for you!

(Makes 4 dozen cookies…or 2.5 dozen large cookies as was the case when I made them)

What you’ll need:

  • 1 1/4 Cup Butter
  • 2 Cups Sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon Vegetable Oil
  • 1/2 Cup Molasses
  • 4 Cups unbleached flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 5 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 3 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoon cloves
The ingredients...

The ingredients...

Ok now WITH the sugar...

Ok now WITH the sugar...

What you do:

1. Preheat the oven to 350oF.
2. In a large bowl, beat the sugar and butter together until creamy.
3. Add the eggs, vegetable oil, and molasses. Mix together well.
4. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir together, mixing well.
5. Cover with plastic wrap and chill in the fridge for one hour.
6. Dough should now be fairly stiff.
7. Shape into small 1 inch sized balls, and dip in sugar.

hmm...larger than an inch...

hmm...larger than an inch...

8. Place onto an ungreased cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.
9. Bake for 8 – 9 minutes.
10. Enjoy!

All shapes, all sizes, all tasty!

All shapes, all sizes, all tasty!

Get more amazing recipes, and a fantastic brunch planner (complete with tips, menus, shopping lists and recipes for hosting a fantastic brunch), at Breakfast with the Broads Cookbook website.

