When our children were younger they would come to me and say “Mommy I am bored” to which I would reply “Boredom is a state of mind, find something to do and you will no longer be bored”. Lately that has been a test even for me. Not so much that I have been bored but feeling trapped. It is still a state of mind

Day after the first snow.

Day after the first snow.

What a difference a day makes!

What a difference a day makes!

but at times I had to do some real self-talking to keep out of a slump. It started in December when we were snowed in for nearly two and a half weeks. There were days of brief sunshine which of course I inhaled with great joy, but it didn’t take away the snow, it just made it crispy and icy. It rained a couple of days, so on top of the snow it iced up the road, making it impossible to get in and out of our driveway.

It was relief to finally get out on New Years Eve. I don’t think I really appreciated ‘freedom’ until it wasn’t easily attained. I am usually quite a homebody and can stay at home for weeks without any thoughts of leaving. Those few weeks became quite a test!.

Midnight snowfall

Midnight snowfall

Next came the fog, thick peas soup fog which lasted for days!

Next came the fog.

Next came the fog.

Fog rolling in.

Are you wondering how everyone got in yet, I didn’t get out? Well had the need to exit been important we could have

Freighter coming out of the fog.

Freighter coming out of the fog.

Geese during snowfall

Geese during snowfall

worked at it. As a friend said “We did not have a burning desire to extricate ourselves from paradise!” After Christmas we were able to move our car to the end of the driveway, but the snow melted and froze the tires into the ice. We worked our way back to the house for another five days while Mother Nature melted it.

Jackfrost's artwork

Jackfrost's artwork

More of Jack's work

More of Jack's work

The photographic opportunities over the month were wonderful, such a variety of ever changing scenes. I hope you enjoy them! These two are my favorite.  I took them through the glass on the front deck.  Jack Frost’s artwork in the foreground!

Several great things happened during this month of strange weather that helped me re-focus on the bigger picture. First my mom and our daughter were able to get in and out before Christmas. Second we had a short day in Victoria so mom could have a visit with our son. Third and most important to me our son and daughter, their spouses and dogs made it in on Christmas Day. Through knee deep snow (no they were not barefoot in driving winds walking a mile!) they were able to carry their bags over their heads and no one slipped on the ice. Even our friends made it for dinner, although when they realized how bad the roads were they left shortly after dinner which meant we missed out on “Are you Smarter than a Fifth Grader?” Whew! Our kids would have cleaned up!!

